Nominees Announced For 2022 Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame Induction

Music Row
By LB Cantrell
June 28, 2022

The 2022 nominees for the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame (NaSHOF) have been announced. Of the 12 nominees, three will be inducted at the 52nd Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala on Sunday, October 30, 2022, at the Music City Center.

“We congratulate all of this year’s nominees in our contemporary categories and look forward to early August, when we will announce those who will be inducted as members of our Class of 2022,” says NaSHOF Executive Director Mark Ford.

The 2022 nominees in the Contemporary Songwriters category are Larry Cordle, Jim Lauderdale, Hillary Lindsey, Frank J. Myers, Gary Nicholson, Ronnie Rogers, Tia Sillers, and Tommy Sims. The 2022 nominees in the Contemporary Songwriter/Artists category are Kirk Franklin, Brad Paisley, Pam Tillis and Shania Twain.

All nominees experienced their first significant songs at least 20 years ago. A total of two songwriters and one songwriter/artist will be elected from the contemporary categories by members of the Hall of Fame along with other professional songwriters and artists from a variety of genres who are prominently identified with Nashville and who have written/co-written at least one original and significant Nashville song.

In addition, two more will be named to the Class of 2022. A separate body of veteran voters will elect a Veteran Songwriter and a Veteran Songwriter/Artist, both of whom experienced their first significant songs at least 30 years ago. As part of that process, nominees in those categories are not announced.

For biographical information on the 2022 nominees, see below:


Shania Twain was born in Windsor, Ontario, Canada. During high school, she began writing songs and fronting a local cover band. After graduation, she toured Ontario with another band before returning home in 1987 to care for her younger siblings after their parents died in a car accident. She continued to perform and five years later was signed to Mercury Nashville. Since the release of her debut album 1993, Shania has placed 22 self-penned Top 20 songs on the Billboard charts, including 7 #1s and 8 more in the Top 10. Among those compositions are “You’re Still The One” (1998 Grammy for Best Country Song / 1999 BMI Country Song of the Year), “Come On Over” (1999 Grammy for Best Country Song) and “Forever And For Always” (2004 BMI Country Song of the Year), along with “You’ve Got A Way,” “(If You’re Not In It For Love) I’m Outta Here!,” “Love Gets Me Every Time,” “No One Needs To Know,” “Man! I Feel Like A Woman!,” “From This Moment On” and “That Don’t Impress Me Much.” Shania was named NSAI’s 1998 Songwriter/Artist of the Year, as well as BMI’s 1999 Country Songwriter of the Year and 2000 Country Songwriter of the Year. She was inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame in 2011.