BREAKING: Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame Announces Class Of 2022

Music Row
By LB Cantrell
August 2, 2022

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame (NaSHOF) has announced its class of 2022.

Shania Twain, Steve Wariner, Hillary Lindsey, Gary Nicholson and David Malloy will join the iconic 223-member Hall in October, according to an announcement made on Tuesday (Aug. 2) by Sarah Cates, chair of the organization’s board of directors, and Mark Ford, the NaSHOF executive director.

“This is always one of my favorite days of the year—when we announce our incoming class and begin their journey to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala in October,” shared Cates at the 2022 inductee announcement. “I’m especially gratified to note that—for the first time since 2009—two of our inductees-elect are women.”

Ford introduced each member of the new class to make remarks. Lindsey and Nicholson represent the contemporary songwriter category, Malloy is in the veteran songwriter category, Twain is the contemporary songwriter/artist and Wariner is the veteran songwriter/artist.

The talented songwriters will be officially inducted during the 52nd annual Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala on Sunday, October 30, at the Music City Center.

Hillary Lindsey’s songwriter credits include “Jesus Take The Wheel” (Carrie Underwood), “Girl Crush” (Little Big Town) and “Blue Ain’t Your Color” (Keith Urban). Gary Nicholson’s resume is known for “That’s The Thing About Love” (Don Williams), “One More Last Chance” (Vince Gill) and “She Couldn’t Change Me” (Montgomery-Gentry). David Malloy’s hits include “Drivin’ My Life Away” (Eddie Rabbitt), “Suspicions” (Eddie Rabbitt; also Tim McGraw) and “Love Will Turn You Around” (Kenny Rogers).

Shania Twain recorded many of her self-penned hits, including “You’re Still The One,” “Come On Over” and “Forever And For Always.” Steve Wariner popularized many of his own compositions, including “You Can Dream Of Me,” “Where Did I Go Wrong” and “Holes In The Floor Of Heaven.”